We went with Michi’s mom to Tachikawa station. I wasn’t feeling good on the way. I probably caught something from the plane, and it was getting to me now with a cough, so I wore a mask. We had lunch together, and I got a coffee from Good Sound.

Then we caught the train to Ome and went out to Mitake. We took the cable car up and made the short trek to where we were going to stay the night My cough was bugging me, and it was a long trip, but it was worth it.

We arrived at the shukubo Komadori Sanso which was opened in 1776. We met Akemi Baba, her son, daughter-in-law, and their newest two-month-old daughter, Yae-chan. When she is an adult she will be the 19th generation caretaker for the shukubo.

We spent the evening there and enjoyed the warblers and the quiet. We relaxed, drank tea, and had a wonderful vegan set meal before our bath. Our bath was cut short because I thought there was a huge spider, but it turned out to be a harmless beetle.

To Mitake Torii to Mitake On the way to our shukubo Komadori Sanso Sato at Komadori Sanso