We ate breakfast at the hotel in the morning and then made our way to the train. We took a fancier express train to Takadanobaba and then transferred to Kichijoji.

We went to Parco, and I got some tapes from the Disk Union, William Tyler and two Keita Sano cassettes. Then we ate sushi and went to the Ghibli Museum. It was perfect.

We went right into the theater and saw the short The Day I Bought a Star. Set in Iblard and with a magical terrarium sci-fi solarpunk story, I loved it. We went to every spot in the museum, and I fell in love with the animator’s work areas. I learned of Oga Kazuo, who painted all of my favorite backgrounds. I got a ton of postcards and the Only Yesterday and The Day I Bought a Star soundtracks. Then we found the bookstore, and I got the programs for Only Yesterday, Pom Poko, and another art book. Michi got a book about the flowers and plants of Hachikokuyama Park. We took pictures on the roof with Laputa. We then spent time with a walk through the nearby Inokashira Park.

We got more sushi and I got a YMO cassette and the Legend of Mana and Suzume soundtracks. We headed back and I bought a digital clock that I loved from a nearby shop.

We came home and captured a big roach from the kitchen. Momma made tofu, and we talked and ate together, laughing about wanting to live in Kawagoe.

Michi waiting for the train Park on the way to Ghibli Museum Ghibli Museum Mitaka Outside Ghibli Museum Outside Ghibli Museum Outside Ghibli Museum Michi at the Straw Hat Cafe Flags at the Straw Hat Cafe Laputian statue Laputian statue Laputa cube Outside Ghibli Museum Bathrooms at Inokashira Park Inokashira Pond Rock wall in Inokashira Inokashira Pond Weird statue in Kichijoji Weird lantern in Kichijoji Lanikai Juice They feel the same about Elon